Trying + Loving : May

Happy June! How is it already June?! It feels like 2016 has flown by, right? Crazy.
This past month, I basically did a drugstore haul and found quite a few products that I’ll definitely be repurchasing! Here are my favorites from May:

E.L.F. LIP EXFOLIATOR


Guys, forget lip scrubs when you’re on the go. This little guy makes exfoliating my lips a much less messy and time-consuming process. It comes in the shape of any lipstick and goes on the same way – just apply it to your lips in a scrubby motion and wipe off the excess. It’s made with sugar (for the scrubbiness) and lots of hydrating oils, so it doesn’t just dry out your lips when you’re done exfoliating. I personally like the smell and taste of the brown lip exfoliator, but it also comes in cherry and mint if you don’t like the taste but love the results. It’s made a huge difference in the longevity and smoothness of my lipstick AND it’s only $3!

 

PHYSICIAN’S FORMULA POWDER PALETTE MINERAL GLOW PEARLS IN THE SHADE TRANSLUCENT PEARL

I got this recommended by Cosmobyhaley on YouTube, and I really love it so far! This has been perfect for days when I just want a subtle highlight – it has just the right amount of shimmer but isn’t too bright. It’s also got that super smooth-feeling application that I love!

 

REVLON ULTRA HD MATTE LIPCOLOR IN SHADE SEDUCTION


So I’ve given the NYX Lingerie Liquid Lipsticks so many chances because of all the raving reviews on them, but every time I try them, my lips get SO dry and cracked and it’s just not a good look. I thought that all liquid lipsticks worked the same way until I found this stuff at Target. This stuff goes on so smoothly and doesn’t even come close to drying out my lips! It also lasts forever (even after I eat), and all the colors in this line are super flattering. My favorite is this shade because it looks natural but also has a slight bit of pinkiness in it.

 

E.L.F. INSTANT LIFT BROW PENCIL IN THE SHADE NEUTRAL BROWN

In the world of brow pencils – you name it, I’ve tried it. Anastasia Beverly Hills. NYX. Tarte. This is the exact same stuff as the high end products, but at a much better price. It stays on just as well and applies the exact same. The only downside is that there aren’t as many color options as the higher-end products, but luckily I fall under one of the colors they offer!

 

ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS POWDER CONTOUR KIT


The only thing on my list this month that you can’t find in the drugstores. I finally decided to give this a try a looong time ago when this kit was fairly new, but I hated it and threw it in the back of my bathroom cabinet. Totally forgot I had it until recently when we were packing to move out, and I decided to try it again. I’ve totally experienced a change of heart as I have since tried their cream contour kit – I hated it and returned it 3 days later, but I did love some of the cooler shades found in both the cream and the powder kits! My favorite shade is Fawn (the middle shade on the bottom row) for my fair skin, and the shades on either side of Fawn are great as bronzers in the summertime! The top highlight shades are still a little too dark for me, but Banana (middle shade) is a great neutral tone to help set my under-eyes after applying concealer.

 

E.L.F. MAD FOR MATTE EYESHADOW PALETTE


This is a fairly new palette, and I’m surprised I picked this up from the store since I haven’t used anything but the Naked palettes for years! Though the formula isn’t as smooth as the Naked Palettes, this palette is still something I’ll be using again and again! The shades are incredibly pigmented and are still super easy to apply,  and it’s got a great range of colors. I’ve been obsessing over matte eyeshadows lately and this one is a great drugstore option for anyone seeking a good palette!

 

NYX HIGH VOLTAGE LIPSTICK IN THE SHADE FREE SPIRIT

I almost never embrace a bold lip, but I absolutely love this lipstick for summertime! The formula is super creamy and long-lasting, too. All of the colors in the High Voltage line are super bright, and this one is my favorite!

 

 

Any products you’ve been trying out and loving so far this past month? If you’ve tried out any of the products I’ve mentioned, how did they work for you? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

