Five Eyeshadow Palettes Worth the Splurge

When it comes to high-end makeup, it gets confusing. If you’re new to the makeup world, you have no idea which brands are good, which ones aren’t, and not the slightest clue if any of this stuff is actually worth your money. Like, who’s gonna spend $54 on an eyeshadow palette when you can get the same amount of makeup for $10 at the drugstore? Isn’t it all the same?

No. Nope. it’s not the same, I promise.

Ever since trying the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette years ago as a makeup baby, I have maybe purchased two drugstore brand eyeshadow palettes that were comparable to the high-end ones I owned. Don’t get me wrong, I love a bargain and I am always looking to find drugstore brand makeup products that are similar to their high-end counterparts (keep a lookout for a post soon on drugstore dupes for high-end products, by the way!). Eyeshadow is the one makeup product that I believe is worth only buying high-end and encourage others to do the same because the formulas are so much better!

If you are new to makeup and want to take the dive into the beautiful sea of high-end eyeshadows, or if you are just looking for a new palette to add to your ever-growing collection, here are five palettes that are definitely worth your money!

 

 

1. URBAN DECAY NAKED 2, $54

 

Image result for urban decay naked 2 ulta

Most people I know already know how wonderful UD eyeshadows are. They’re so buttery and smooth and incredibly pigmented, it’s no wonder their Naked palettes are so talked about! The Naked 2 palette is my personal favorite and is better than the others because the colors in the palette are much more versatile. The Naked 2 has lighter matte shades that are great for when you’re going for a natural look, and it also has darker and shimmery shades for when you’re going out.

 

2. TOO FACED CHOCOLATE BAR, $49

Image result for too faced chocolate bar

Basically every YouTube makeup guru has talked about this palette, and for good reason. I personally haven’t purchased Chocolate Bar for myself yet, but I have definitely swatched the shades in Sephora like eight times and have talked myself out of buying it each time. I have tried the Natural Matte palette and if Chocolate Bar is anything like it (it is), it’s amazing. And on top of it having really blendable, natural shades, this palette smells SO GOOD. After all, they’re made with actual cocoa powder, so if you’re a chocolate lover, definitely check out this palette.

 

3. LORAC PRO MATTE PALETTE, $28

Image result for lorac pro matte

This palette. Guys. Velvety smooth and incredibly pigmented. That’s all I really need to say. If you’re like me and you tend to only wear matte natural shades, or if you don’t want to take the leap and spend $44 on one of the original Pro palettes yet, this one is a happy medium! It’s also super travel-friendly because of how small it is – a lot of great palettes seem too bulky to carry around, but this one is the perfect size. I also have used the darker shades to double as eyebrow powder!

 

4. TARTE TARTELETTE IN BLOOM CLAY PALETTE, $45

712.jpg

To be honest, at first I was skeptical of Tarte’s eyeshadows because I had tried their face products before and they didn’t work for me. Their powders had too much fallout and looked cakey on my skin, so I hesitated when trying out this palette. I wish I had got this sooner! Tarte’s eyeshadows are super nice and the color payoff is really satisfying (and they smell good too, not kidding). The shades in this palette are really versatile and can create looks from romantic and light to smokey and sultry. Also, the packaging. I’m a sucker for good packaging.

 

5. ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS MODERN RENAISSANCE PALETTE , $42

I have been a huge fan of their single eyeshadows for a while, but Anastasia Beverly Hills’ first permanent palette definitely does not disappoint! It has a beautifully unique selection of neutral and berry shades to choose from with mattes and metallics throughout, making the look possibilities endless – Warm Taupe is one of my all-time favorite shades! The pigmentation and blendability of this palette is an actual dream, too. Totally worth the money.

 

Happy shopping!

 


What are your favorite eyeshadow palettes (drugstore or high-end)? Share in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Five Eyeshadow Palettes Worth the Splurge

  1. All of these palettes sound amazing! I have the Naked original and Naked 2 and love both of them! I do agree with you that I like the Naked 2 palette more than the original, but they’re both still amazing! I’m such a sucker for eyeshadow and now immediately want to go shopping! hahah

Leave a Reply

